We have two advisory panels, our Higher Education Advisory Panel and our Disability Experts Panel. Both panels enable us to access advice on issues related to our casework.

Higher Education Advisory Panel 

We can consult our Higher Education Advisory Panel on general questions of practice in the higher education sector. This helps us to keep in touch with the sector and understand common practice in providers.

The panel is made up of experienced provider and students' union staff who we select through an interview process.

We may ask advice from the whole group or we may approach individual members who have particular expertise in a certain area. We do not have to follow any advice the panel may give.

The panel does not see or make decisions on individual complaints.

The current panel members are:

  • Zoë Allman, Associate Dean (Academic), De Montfort University
  • Claire Blanchard, Partnership Team Leader, University of Wales Trinity Saint David
  • Dr Mark Hollingsworth, Deputy Chief Operating Officer, City, University of London
  • Charlotte Levy, Registrar, Royal Academy of Dance
  • Dr Nathan Morris, Head of Student Complaints and Academic Casework Team, University of Warwick 
  • Carmen Neagoe, Head of Educational and Teaching Support, Judge Business School, University of Cambridge
  • Melissa Reilly, Advice and Response Manager (Safeguarding, Gender-based Violence and Hate), The University of Manchester
  • Adrian Spence, Head of Advice, Wellbeing and Accommodation Support, Aston Students’ Union, Birmingham
  • Cat Turhan, Director of Membership Services, Imperial College Union
  • Nicholas Whitehouse, Coordinator, Mixed Economy Group of Colleges

Disability Experts Panel

We can consult our Disability Experts Panel on a broad range of disability issues.

The panel is made up of disability practitioners, experts in disability matters and members with significant experience of working with disabled students in higher education. The panel meets every six months to discuss current issues as well as case studies referred for discussion by our case-handlers.

The panel does not see or make decisions on individual complaints.

The current panel members are:

  • Harriet Cannon, Disability Advisory Team Manager, University of Leeds
  • Nicola Frampton, Insight Manager, Student Minds
  • Martin McLean, Education and Training Policy Advisor (Post 14), National Deaf Children’s Society
  • Lucy Merritt, Education Policy Manager, Thomas Pocklington Trust
  • Laura Nettell, Interim Head of Disability Services, University of Gloucestershire 
  • Phil Scarffe, Head of Student Welfare, De Montfort University
  • Alice Speller, Executive Director, National Association of Disability Practitioners (NADP)